Times are Changing

Image

I open up my eyes. Today is the day. Today is the day that my youngest sibling graduates from college. As I get out of bed, I think about all the accomplishments that Devon has done in such a short time. He went to Clarkson University and was able to work at NASA during the summers. He’s graduating with high honors and is being recognized during the graduation for his accomplishments. He is thinking of going to Germany to impact the world with his knowledge. This may not mean a lot to many, but it means so much to me. It means that life is moving on. Both brothers are no longer college students and I will be graduating in a year’s time. We are moving on with our lives. My brothers were just talking about how they are moving out after the summer.

We are no longer children. We are no longer getting up on Saturday mornings to watch cartoons. We are no longer bickering of who took what toy and how they’re not sharing. We are no longer going on day trips with Mom and Dad to the beach or to the movies.

Change is hard. And to be quite frank, I don’t like it. I don’t like hearing how our lives are moving on, how my brothers and I are going our separate ways, soon to be full adults in the real world. I don’t like that we are leaving the house that we grew up in, I don’t like that we are leaving my parents.

But, I take refuge in the fact that my God will never change. My God will never move away from me. He is an unchanging God. “Lead me to the rock that is higher than I” (Psalm 61). Through the waves of change, God is the rock that never shakes, that never moves, that never changes. He stays the same and His love for us endures through that change. I have learned to “let go” of the things that are changing. They are not in my control and I am at peace because I know that wherever the Lord takes all of us, He will sustain us. Because, He is the rock that is higher than I. Stop trying to stop the change. You are not in control. Change is bound to happen…it will happen. However, knowing that God will never change should bring peace. Yes, change hurts. Nevertheless, change occurs because there are seasons and there are times when you need to “let go” of something that you are harboring in your life.

Learn to let go through these times. Your God is higher and your God is greater than whatever comes your way. Including change. Learn to accept change, learn to love it. Change your perspective and accept that things happened in your life for a reason, but it’s time to move on, it’s time to let go, and it’s time to change.

About selflessacrifice

I love Jesus! I want to be an example to young people and women. Learning to die to myself and live for Christ. It's a hard process, but I know the outcome will be beautiful!
This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Times are Changing

  1. My Brother In law just Graduated too. It is amazing to how time flies. He was just above my knees it seems at my wedding.

  2. Andrew Cowper-Smith says:

    Hey girl, just thought I’d drop in, say hi and I hope you are hanging in there in your faith! I saw a post form a christian blog, a dude commenting on his virginity(that was 2010?). Well anyway you commented there, I was a little curious about you and I hope you too are holding fast in the faith. If it encourages you at all there are virgin guys out there. I’m one at 34! Its kinda disheartening to be honest lol. Soon I’ll be the 40 year ol virgin! đŸ˜‰

    I hope your bible school went well. Andrew

    • Hey, Andrew! Sorry that this took a few months to respond to!

      It honestly is worth the wait! I’m still not married and I’m not dating, but I know that purity is one of my biggest desires to maintain until marriage. And purity isn’t just about sexual purity, but it involves all aspects! Including speech, manners, the way you present yourself, etc.

      Hope you are doing well!

Leave a Reply

